Boating Safety Certificates
Who needs a boating safety certificate? Anyone operating a Personal Watercraft (JetSki™, Wave Runner™, etc.) must have a boating safety certificate, and be at least 14 years of age or older.
Under a new law, known as Brianna's Law, all motor boat operators:
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2023.
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2024.
All motor boat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025.
New York State In Classroom Course
This course is designed as a comprehensive boating safety course, teaching the fundamentals of safe boating operation and has been approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
Students must be at least 10 years of age to attend the course.
This course requires a minimum of 8 hours of classroom instruction.
Students will receive a temporary boating safety certificate upon completion of the course.
Permanent boating safety certificates do not expire.
Students 18 years of age and older will be required to pay a $10 fee to NYS for issuance of a permanent boating safety certificate. $10 NYS fee is NOT Included in course fee.
Cost for a replacement certificate is $10.00 regardless of age.
NYS SAFE BOATING COURSE
New York is rich with opportunities to get on the water. Each year an increasing number of people are using boats for their recreation. If you use a motor boat or a non-powered craft such as a canoe, kayak or the current trend, the paddleboard you need to be aware of your abilities and the environment around you. If you have not taken a boating safety course, we strongly suggest that you take one. Taking a boating course can teach you how to have a safe and enjoyable experience on the water.